Rates checked Oct. 5, 2026. Sources: state laws, court rules, and court fee orders. Every row links to its source.
Court transcript rates by state are set by state law and court rules, so the price of a page depends on where the case was heard. In the 31 states plus D.C. that set one main statewide page rate, the regular rate runs from $2.25 a page in Wisconsin to $6.00 a page in Utah. The middle rate, or median, is $4.00 a page.
Below you will find a map, a full table of transcript fees by state (113 rate schedules), and how we checked each one. These are official court rates. If you want to know what a private company charges to transcribe a court recording you already have, see How Much Does It Cost To Transcribe Court Proceedings?
Summary: Key Rates at a Glance
- $2.25 to $6.00 a page is the range of regular rates in the 31 states plus D.C. with one main statewide page rate (Wisconsin Statutes 814.69; Utah Code, Title 78A, Chapter 2, Section 408).
- $4.00 a page is the median regular rate.
- Utah is highest at $6.00 a page. Minnesota is next at $5.75 for civil and family cases, then New Jersey at $5.73 (Minnesota Judicial Branch; New Jersey Courts).
- Faster delivery costs more. In New Jersey, a regular page is $5.73. A next day page is $11.46.
- Not every state sets one rate. 9 states set a rate only for some courts or case types. 4 states leave the rate to each court or county. 5 states have no statewide rate at all.
- California charges by the word, not the page: $1.13 per 100 words for the original (California Government Code section 69950).
- Massachusetts charges $3.00 a page. News reports in 2025 said the rate was last changed in 1988 (Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 221, Section 88).
What These Rates Are, and What They Are Not
These rates are the official price, or the most a court reporter or court transcriber may charge, for a transcript of a state court hearing. Each one comes from a state law, a court rule, or a court order.
These rates are not:
- Deposition rates. Private firms set those prices. No state table here covers them.
- Federal court rates. Federal courts follow their own caps.
- Our prices. For what we charge to transcribe a recording, see our legal transcription prices page.
How to Read the Map
- Color shows the regular rate for each state’s main schedule. Darker orange means a higher rate. The legend runs from under $3.00 to $5.00 and up.
- Special styles mark states with a partial rate, a rate that varies by court, no statewide rate, or a per word rate (California).
- Hover, tap, or tab to a state to see every speed tier and every schedule for that state.
- Many states have more than one schedule. For example, a state may charge private parties one rate and the government another. The map color uses the main schedule. The pop up box shows them all.
Official court transcript rates by state, per page
Regular delivery, original page. Data checked Oct. 2026.
Hover, tap or tab to a state to see every rate tier. Small states are labeled at right.
- Under $3.00
- $3.00 to $3.49
- $3.50 to $3.99
- $4.00 to $4.49
- $4.50 to $4.99
- $5.00 and up
- Partial (some courts or case types only)
- Varies by court
- No statewide rate
- California (set per 100 words)
Source: state statutes, court rules and court fee schedules. Compiled by Ditto Transcripts.
Rates are official caps or set fees for state court transcripts. They are not deposition rates and not our prices.
Court Transcript Fees by State: Full Table for All 50 States and D.C.
Each row is one rate schedule. Prices are per page unless the row says otherwise.
- State uses official postal abbreviations, such as DC for the District of Columbia.
- Regular is the base speed. States call it ordinary, standard, 30 day, or 60 day.
- 14 day, 7 day, 3 to 4 day, Next day, and Same day are faster tiers. When a state gives a rush rate with no set time, we put it in the closest column.
- First copy and Added copy are copy prices. States define these in different ways, so read the source.
- Not set means the state sets no price for that tier. Varies means each court sets it. Not found means a rate exists, but we could not find it published by the state. None means there is no statewide rate.
| State | Schedule | Status | Regular | 14 day | 7 day | 3 to 4 day | Next day | Same day | First copy | Added copy | Effective date | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| AL | Standard | Statewide | $4.50 | Not set | $15.00 | Not set | $25.00 | Not set | $1.00 | Not set | May 1, 2022 | Alabama Rules of Judicial Administration, Rule 29(C), under Alabama Code Title 12, Chapter 17, Section 276 |
| AL | Indigent party (declared by the court) | Statewide | $3.50 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $0.50 | Not set | May 1, 2022 | Alabama Rules of Judicial Administration, Rule 29(C)(1)(b) and (c), (C)(2)(b) and (c) |
| AK | No statewide rate | No statewide rate | None | None | None | None | None | None | None | None | Not applicable | Alaska Administrative Rule 36; Administrative Rule 9 fee schedule (no transcript page rate) |
| AZ | Appeals only | Partial | $2.50 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $0.30 | Not set | Not stated | Arizona Revised Statutes, Title 12, Section 224(B) |
| AR | Statewide | Statewide | $4.10 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $0.50 | July 28, 2021 | Arkansas Code, Title 16, Chapter 13, Section 506(a) (Act 1097 of 2021) |
| CA | Statewide (per 100 words) | Statewide | $1.13 per 100 words | Not set | Not set | Not set | Base plus 50% | Not set | $0.20 per 100 words | $0.26 per 100 words | Sept. 23, 2021 | California Government Code sections 69950 and 69951 (AB 177, 2021) |
| CO | Statewide | Statewide | $3.60 | Not set | $4.35 | Not set | $5.85 | $6.85 | $1.35 | Not set | July 1, 2023 | Colorado Chief Justice Directive on court reporter page rates, Appendix A (amended effective July 1, 2023) |
| CT | Private party | Statewide | $3.60 | Not set | $4.75 | Not set | $10.00 | Not set | Not set | $2.10 | Oct. 1, 2024 | Connecticut General Statutes, Title 51, Section 63 (Public Act 72 of 2024); Judicial Branch transcript guide JDP ES 265 (Rev. 10/24) |
| CT | Public official (state and municipal) | Statewide | $2.40 | Not set | $3.50 | Not set | $6.75 | Not set | Not set | $0.90 | Oct. 1, 2024 | Connecticut General Statutes, Title 51, Section 63(a)(2) (Public Act 72 of 2024); Judicial Branch transcript guide JDP ES 265 (Rev. 10/24) |
| DE | Superior Court only | Partial | $3.00 | Not set | $5.00 | Not set | $6.50 | Not set | $2.00 | Not set | Not stated | Delaware Superior Court official transcripts page |
| DC | Statewide | Statewide | $4.40 | $5.10 | $5.85 | $6.55 | $7.30 | $8.70 | $1.10 | $0.75 | Oct. 1, 2024 | DC Courts Maximum Transcript Rates Per Page |
| FL | Varies by court | Varies by court | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Not applicable | Florida Rule of General Practice and Judicial Administration 2.535 (each circuit sets a court reporting plan) |
| FL | Circuit 1 (Escambia Okaloosa Santa Rosa Walton) | Varies by court | $6.50 | $8.50 | $11.00 | Varies | Varies | Varies | $2.00 | $2.50 | Not stated on page | First Judicial Circuit Court Reporting web page |
| FL | Circuit 2 (Leon Gadsden Jefferson Liberty Wakulla), appeal | Varies by court | $6.25 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Not stated on page | Second Judicial Circuit Court Reporters Office web page |
| FL | Circuit 2 (Leon Gadsden Jefferson Liberty Wakulla), non appeal | Varies by court | $5.00 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Not stated on page | Second Judicial Circuit Court Reporters Office web page |
| FL | Circuit 3 (Columbia Dixie Hamilton Lafayette Madison Suwannee Taylor) | Varies by court | $4.00 | Varies | Varies | $6.00 | Varies | Varies | $0.50 | $1.00 | AO 2026 003 (amends AO 2025 008) | Third Judicial Circuit Administrative Order 2026 003, Attachment A |
| FL | Circuit 5 (audio only, no court transcript) | Varies by court | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Not stated | Fifth Judicial Circuit Court Reporting web page; Administrative Order A 2010 01 E |
| FL | Circuit 6 (Pasco Pinellas), appellate | Varies by court | $7.00 | $8.00 | Varies | $9.50 | $11.00 | Varies | Varies | $2.00 | AO 2023 020 | Sixth Judicial Circuit Administrative Order 2023 020 PA PI CIR, Appendix A |
| FL | Circuit 6 (Pasco Pinellas), non appellate | Varies by court | $6.00 | $7.00 | Varies | $8.50 | $10.00 | Varies | Varies | $2.00 | AO 2023 020 | Sixth Judicial Circuit Administrative Order 2023 020 PA PI CIR, Appendix A |
| FL | Circuit 7 (audio only, no court transcript) | Varies by court | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Not stated | Seventh Judicial Circuit Court Reporting Services web page |
| FL | Circuit 8 (Alachua Baker Bradford Gilchrist Levy Union) | Varies by court | $6.00 | Varies | $7.50 | Varies | $10.00 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Not stated on page (see AO 1.14) | Eighth Judicial Circuit Ordering Transcripts and Recordings page |
| FL | Circuit 9 (Orange Osceola) | Varies by court | $6.00 | $7.25 | $8.50 | $9.75 | $10.25 | $11.00 | $1.00 | $1.50 | AO 2019 01 03 (Appendix A; rates may be amended without a new order) | Ninth Judicial Circuit Administrative Order 2019 01 03 Appendix A; Court Reporters web page |
| FL | Circuit 10 (Hardee Highlands Polk) | Varies by court | $7.50 | Varies | Varies | $15.00 | Varies | Varies | Varies | $2.00 | AO 1 22.6 | Tenth Judicial Circuit Administrative Order 1 22.6, Section VI |
| FL | Circuit 12 (DeSoto Manatee Sarasota), felony transcripts | Varies by court | $7.00 | Varies | $9.00 | Varies | $11.00 | Varies | Varies | $2.00 | July 1, 2025 (AO 2025 09.2) | Twelfth Judicial Circuit Administrative Order 2025 09.2 |
| FL | Circuit 17 (Broward) | Varies by court | $6.25 | $7.25 | $8.50 | $9.75 | $10.25 | Varies | Varies | $1.10 | AO 2023 32 Gen Amendment 2 | Seventeenth Judicial Circuit Administrative Order 2023 32 Gen Amendment 2 |
| FL | Circuit 19 (Indian River Martin Okeechobee St. Lucie), non appeal | Varies by court | $5.00 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $1.00 | AO 2026 04 | Nineteenth Judicial Circuit Administrative Order 2026 04 |
| FL | Circuit 20 (Charlotte Collier Glades Hendry Lee), ISC schedule | Varies by court | $3.50 | $3.75 | $4.00 | $5.00 | $7.00 | $8.00 | Varies | $1.25 | For services on or after Oct. 1, 2004 (page still published) | Twentieth Judicial Circuit Indigent Services Committee Current Rates page |
| GA | Civil and juvenile | Partial | $3.78 | Not set | $5.70 | Not set | $7.58 | Not set | Not set | $1.51 | Civil: July 1, 2008 (base amount, before cost of living raises); criminal: Jan. 1, 2015 | Judicial Council of Georgia transcript fee schedules (Board of Court Reporting) |
| GA | Criminal | Statewide | $6.00 | Not set | $5.70 | Not set | $7.60 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Jan. 1, 2015 | Judicial Council of Georgia, Fees for Services by Official Court Reporters, Criminal Cases (Board of Court Reporting) |
| HI | Non government (private parties) | Statewide | $4.60 | $4.85 | $5.20 | $6.05 | $7.30 | Not set | $1.50 | Not set | July 1, 2026 (order dated Jan. 22, 2026) | Hawaii Rules Governing Court Reporting, Rule 19(b) |
| HI | Government | Statewide | $4.30 | $4.45 | $4.72 | $5.45 | $6.49 | Not set | $1.00 | Not set | July 1, 2026 (order dated Jan. 22, 2026) | Hawaii Rules Governing Court Reporting, Rule 19(a) |
| ID | Statewide | Statewide | $3.25 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Amended 1999; statute amended again in 2025 (chapter 329) with the rate still $3.25 | Idaho Code, Title 1, Section 1105(2) |
| IL | Private party | Statewide | $4.00 | Not set | $4.75 | Not set | $5.50 | Not set | $2.50 | Not set | July 1, 2017 | Uniform Schedule of Charges for Official Transcripts (705 ILCS 70/5) |
| IL | Government copies | Statewide | $4.00 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $0.50 | Not set | July 1, 2017 | Uniform Schedule of Charges for Official Transcripts (705 ILCS 70/5) |
| IN | Varies by court | Varies by court | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Not applicable | Indiana Administrative Rule 15 (county court reporter plans approved by the Supreme Court) |
| IN | Allen County (private, county indigent, and state indigent) | Varies by court | $5.75 | Varies | $8.00 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $1.00 | Supreme Court order approving Allen County local rules (2019) | Allen County Local Court Reporter Plan under Administrative Rule 15 |
| IN | Franklin County (private, county indigent, and state indigent) | Varies by court | $4.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Local rule as published (see L.R. 24 A.R. 15 3) | Franklin Circuit and Superior Courts Local Rules, L.R. 24 A.R. 15 3 |
| IN | Gibson County (private, county indigent, and state indigent) | Varies by court | $7.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Local court reporter rules effective Oct. 9, 2024 | Gibson County Local Court Reporter Rules |
| IA | Statewide | Statewide | $4.55 | Not set | $5.55 | Not set | $6.55 | Not set | Not set | $1.00 | Aug. 26, 2026 | Iowa Court Rule 22.28 (Iowa Code 602.3202) |
| KS | Statewide | Statewide | $3.50 | Not set | Not set | $7.00 | $14.00 | Not set | $0.50 | Not set | Jan. 1, 2012 | Kansas Supreme Court Rule 367, Board Rule No. 10 |
| KY | No statewide rate | No statewide rate | None | None | None | None | None | None | None | None | Not applicable | Administrative Office of the Courts, Administrative Procedures Part VI, Section 4, Transcription fees (deleted) |
| LA | Varies by court | Varies by court | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Not applicable | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F) |
| LA | Default statewide cap (districts without a higher exception) | Varies by court | $1.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.25 | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(a) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(a) |
| LA | Eighth Judicial District (range) | Varies by court | $2.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.50 | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(j) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(j) |
| LA | Eleventh Judicial District (cap) | Varies by court | $2.75 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.25 | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(p) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(p) |
| LA | Fourth Judicial District (cap, except forma pauperis) | Varies by court | $2.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(k) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(k) |
| LA | Judge set districts without a printed dollar cap (3rd, 2nd, 5th, 18th, 22nd, 20th, 15th) | Varies by court | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(d)(e)(n)(u)(v) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(d), (e), (n), (u), (v) |
| LA | Ninth Judicial District (cap) | Varies by court | $2.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(b) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(b) |
| LA | Seventeenth Judicial District (cap) | Varies by court | $2.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.50 | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(c) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(c) |
| LA | Sixth Judicial District (cap) | Varies by court | $2.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.50 | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(l) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(l) |
| LA | Thirty Fifth Judicial District (range) | Varies by court | $2.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(h) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(h) |
| LA | Thirty Ninth Judicial District (cap) | Varies by court | $2.75 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.25 | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(q) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(q) |
| LA | Thirty Seventh Judicial District (cap) | Varies by court | $2.75 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.25 | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(t) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(t) |
| LA | Thirty Sixth Judicial District (range, pending Judicial Council note) | Varies by court | $2.75 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.25 | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(o) as printed until Judicial Council recommendation | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(o) |
| LA | Thirty Third Judicial District (appeals cap) | Varies by court | $2.75 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.25 | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(s) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(s) |
| LA | Twenty Eighth Judicial District (range) | Varies by court | $2.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(g) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(g) |
| LA | Twenty First Judicial District (cap, except forma pauperis) | Varies by court | $2.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(i) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(i) |
| LA | Twenty Ninth Judicial District (cap) | Varies by court | $2.75 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.25 | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(r) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(r) |
| LA | Twenty Sixth Judicial District, Bossier Parish (cap) | Varies by court | $2.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.50 | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(m) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(m) |
| LA | Twenty Third Judicial District (cap, except forma pauperis) | Varies by court | $2.50 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Current La. R.S. 13:961(F)(1)(f) | Louisiana Revised Statutes 13:961(F)(1)(f) |
| ME | Office of Transcript Operations menu | Statewide | $3.90 | $4.65 | $4.85 | $5.10 | $5.60 | Not set | $0.95 | Not set | March 9, 2026 | Maine Judicial Branch Administrative Order JB 05 26, Section J; Office of Transcript Operations published menu |
| ME | Official Court Reporters | Statewide | $3.00 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $0.50 | Not set | March 9, 2026 | Maine Judicial Branch Administrative Order JB 05 26, Section J(1), (2) and (6) |
| MD | Statewide | Statewide | $3.00 | $4.50 | $5.00 | $6.00 | $7.00 | $8.00 | $0.50 | $0.25 | Sept. 9, 2021 | Administrative Order Setting Maximum Transcription Costs in Maryland Courts |
| MA | Statewide | Statewide | $3.00 | Not set | Not set | Not set | $4.50 | Not set | $1.00 | Not set | Last changed 1988 (per WBUR and State House News Service, 2025) | Massachusetts General Laws, Chapter 221, Section 88 |
| MI | Statewide | Statewide | $3.75 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $0.90 | Not set | April 2, 2025 | Michigan Compiled Laws 600.2543 (2024 Public Act 226); State Court Administrative Office memo, March 28, 2025 |
| MN | Civil, family, probate, child protection, SPP and SDP | Statewide | $5.75 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not stated | Minnesota Statutes 486.06; Judicial Council policy under a March 30, 2006, Supreme Court order |
| MN | Criminal and juvenile delinquency | Statewide | $4.25 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not stated | Minnesota Statutes 486.06; Judicial Council policy under a March 30, 2006, Supreme Court order |
| MN | In forma pauperis (fee waiver), all cases | Statewide | $4.25 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not stated | Minnesota Statutes 486.06; Judicial Council policy under a March 30, 2006, Supreme Court order |
| MS | Statewide | Statewide | $4.00 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $4.00 | July 1, 2026 | Mississippi Code, Title 25, Chapter 7, Section 89 (Senate Bill 2378, 2026) |
| MO | Appeals only | Partial | $3.50 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Aug. 28, 2018 (current version) | Missouri Revised Statutes 488.2250 |
| MO | Appeals, state paid (indigent criminal or judge ordered) | Partial | $2.60 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Aug. 28, 2018 (current version) | Missouri Revised Statutes 488.2250(2), (3) and (5) |
| MT | Non government parties | Statewide | $3.00 | Not set | $4.85 | Not set | $6.00 | Not set | $0.55 | $0.25 | July 1, 2025, to June 30, 2027 | Montana Code Annotated, Title 3, Chapter 5, Section 604 (adjusted for inflation by the Office of Court Administrator); district court transcript fee schedule |
| MT | State or local government | Statewide | $2.40 | Not set | $4.85 | Not set | $6.00 | Not set | $0.55 | $0.25 | July 1, 2025, to June 30, 2027 | Montana Code Annotated, Title 3, Chapter 5, Section 604; Office of Court Administrator transcript fee memo (June 27, 2024) |
| NE | Statewide | Statewide | $4.15 | Not set | $5.45 | $6.10 | $6.75 | $8.05 | $1.00 | Not set | Jan. 1, 2025 (latest schedule found) | Nebraska Revised Statutes, Chapter 25, Section 1140.09; Nebraska Court Rules, Chapter 1, Section 218 (Per Page Fee Schedule) |
| NV | Standard (all other orders) | Statewide | $5.50 | Not set | Not set | $7.00 | $10.00 | Not set | $1.00 | $1.50 | Jan. 1, 2026 | Nevada Revised Statutes 3.370(1)(c) (Senate Bill 191, 2025) |
| NV | Civil litigants with legal aid or pro bono counsel | Statewide | $3.50 | Not set | Not set | $4.00 | $7.00 | Not set | Not set | $1.00 | Jan. 1, 2026 | Nevada Revised Statutes 3.370(1)(c)(2) (Senate Bill 191, 2025) |
| NV | Criminal daily, more than one reporter (court ordered) | Statewide | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $10.00 | Not set | Not set | $3.00 | Jan. 1, 2026 | Nevada Revised Statutes 3.370(3)(b) (Senate Bill 191, 2025) |
| NH | Statewide (rates not found) | Partial | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found (court instructions dated Nov. 15, 2023) | New Hampshire Supreme Court Rule 59(3); RSA 519:30 |
| NJ | Statewide | Statewide | $5.73 | Not set | $8.60 | Not set | $11.46 | Not set | $0.95 | Not set | July 1, 2025 | New Jersey Statutes, Title 2B, Chapter 7, Section 4 (inflation update every 5 years); New Jersey Courts notice |
| NM | Civil, no appeal | Statewide | $5.20 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $2.00 | Oct. 7, 2024 | New Mexico Rules Governing Recording of Judicial Proceedings, Rule 207 (NMRA Chapter 22), Supreme Court order effective Oct. 7, 2024 |
| NM | Civil, with appeal | Statewide | $5.60 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $2.00 | Oct. 7, 2024 | New Mexico Rules Governing Recording of Judicial Proceedings, Rule 207 (NMRA Chapter 22), Supreme Court order effective Oct. 7, 2024 |
| NM | Criminal, free process appeal | Statewide | $4.00 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $2.00 | Oct. 7, 2024 | New Mexico Rules Governing Recording of Judicial Proceedings, Rule 207 (NMRA Chapter 22), Supreme Court order effective Oct. 7, 2024 |
| NM | Criminal, no appeal | Statewide | $3.20 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $2.00 | Oct. 7, 2024 | New Mexico Rules Governing Recording of Judicial Proceedings, Rule 207 (NMRA Chapter 22), Supreme Court order effective Oct. 7, 2024 |
| NY | Private party (top of range) | Statewide | $4.30 | Not set | $5.40 | Not set | $6.50 | Not set | $1.00 | Not set | Not stated | 22 NYCRR 108.2 |
| NY | Paid by the Unified Court System | Statewide | $2.50 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $1.00 | Not set | Not stated | 22 NYCRR 108.2(b)(1)(i) |
| NY | Public funds (top of range) | Statewide | $3.15 | Not set | $4.25 | Not set | $5.25 | Not set | $1.00 | Not set | Not stated | 22 NYCRR 108.2(b)(1)(ii) |
| NC | Private parties | No statewide rate | None | None | None | None | None | None | None | None | Not applicable (state paid cap: Sept. 27, 2017) | No fee schedule in N.C. General Statutes Chapter 7A or the N.C. Rules of Appellate Procedure; state paid cap in Session Law 360 of 2013, Section 18B.21A, as amended |
| NC | State paid (Indigent Defense Services) | Partial | $2.00 | Not set | Plus $0.40 a page | Not set | Not set | Not set | $0.60 | Not set | Sept. 27, 2017 | Session Law 360 of 2013, Section 18B.21A, as amended, as applied by Indigent Defense Services |
| ND | Statewide (2025 policy) | Partial | $3.25 | $4.25 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Feb. 1, 2025 | North Dakota Supreme Court Administrative Rule 39; Unified Judicial System Administrative Policy 206 |
| OH | Varies by court | Varies by court | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Not applicable | Ohio Revised Code 2301.24 (each court of common pleas sets pay) |
| OH | Franklin County Common Pleas, General Division, civil | Varies by court | $6.25 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.08 | May 16, 2017 (civil section) | Franklin County Common Pleas Court General Division, Court Reporter Transcription Fee Rates policy |
| OH | Franklin County Common Pleas, General Division, criminal | Varies by court | $4.75 | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | Varies | $0.08 | Jan. 1, 2017 (criminal section) | Franklin County Common Pleas Court General Division, Court Reporter Transcription Fee Rates policy |
| OH | Hamilton County (Court of Common Pleas transcript request form) | Varies by court | $4.50 | $5.45 | $5.95 | Varies | $7.95 | Varies | Varies | $0.10 | Form as published (request form on hamiltoncountycourts.org) | Hamilton County Courts transcript request form |
| OK | Standard rate | Statewide | $5.00 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $2.00 | Nov. 1, 2023 | Oklahoma Supreme Court Order Setting Transcript Fees (2023 OK 93), under Title 20, Section 106.4(B) |
| OK | Differential rate (other reporter’s notes or audio) | Statewide | $7.00 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Nov. 1, 2023 | Oklahoma Supreme Court Order Setting Transcript Fees (2023 OK 93), under Title 20, Section 106.4(B) |
| OK | State buyer copies (Court Fund, district attorney, state entity) | Statewide | $5.00 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $0.25 | Nov. 1, 2023 | Oklahoma Supreme Court Order Setting Transcript Fees (2023 OK 93), under Title 20, Section 106.4(B) |
| OR | Statewide | Statewide | $4.25 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | 91st day after the 2023 legislative session ended (Oregon Laws 2023, chapter 302, section 1) | Oregon Revised Statutes 21.345 |
| PA | Statewide | Statewide | $2.50 | Not set | $3.50 | Not set | $4.50 | $6.50 | $0.75 | Not set | July 1, 2018 | Pennsylvania Rule of Judicial Administration 4008 |
| RI | Statewide | Statewide | $3.50 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $2.00 | Not set | June 10, 2025 | Rhode Island General Laws, Title 8, Chapter 5, Section 5 (Public Laws 2025, chapters 31 and 32); similar sections for Family Court and Workers’ Compensation Court |
| SC | Statewide | Statewide | $4.25 | Not set | $7.25 | Not set | $9.25 | $10.00 | Not set | $1.00 | Faster tiers: May 28, 2025 (Supreme Court order of May 15, 2025); base $4.25 and $1.00: Oct. 15, 2018 (from a news report, not confirmed on the court site) | Rule 607(h)(1), South Carolina Appellate Court Rules |
| SD | Statewide | Statewide | $3.60 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $0.65 | Not set | Jan. 1, 2023 | South Dakota Supreme Court rule adopted Nov. 17, 2022, under South Dakota Codified Laws, Title 15, Chapter 15, Section 7 |
| TN | Criminal only | Partial | $4.00 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | July 1, 2019 | Tennessee Code Annotated, Title 40, Chapter 14, Section 312 (2019 Public Chapter 467) |
| TX | No statewide rate | No statewide rate | None | None | None | None | None | None | None | None | Not applicable | Texas Government Code Section 52.047 (reasonable fee; a judge decides if someone objects) |
| UT | Statewide | Statewide | $6.00 | $7.50 | $9.00 | $10.50 | $12.00 | Not set | Not set | $0.50 | May 1, 2024 | Utah Code, Title 78A, Chapter 2, Section 408 (2024 Senate Bill 167) |
| VT | Vendor schedule (court approved vendor), PDF by email | Partial | $3.40 | $4.30 | $4.85 | $6.20 | $8.10 | Not set | Not set | $0.90 | Not stated (order forms revised July 2024) | Vermont Judiciary published transcript vendor schedule (not a statute or rule) |
| VT | Vendor schedule (court approved vendor), PDF plus mailed print | Partial | $4.30 | $5.20 | $5.75 | $7.10 | $9.00 | Not set | Not set | $0.90 | Not stated (order forms revised July 2024) | Vermont Judiciary published transcript vendor schedule (not a statute or rule) |
| VA | No statewide rate | No statewide rate | None | None | None | None | None | None | None | None | Not applicable | Virginia Code, Title 17.1, Section 128; Title 19.2, Sections 165 and 166; Supreme Court Chart of Allowances (effective July 1, 2026) |
| WA | Statewide (rate not published) | Partial | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Not found | Revised Code of Washington 2.32.240; Rules of Appellate Procedure 15.4(d), 9.2 and 14.3 |
| WV | Statute (party ordered) | Statewide | $2.85 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $1.00 | $1.00 | 1997 (Senate Bill 331) | West Virginia Code, Chapter 51, Article 7, Section 4 |
| WV | Publicly funded (Supreme Court pay statement) | Statewide | $2.85 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $1.00 | $0.75 | Pay statement revised February 2026 | Supreme Court of Appeals of West Virginia, Court Reporter Transcript Pay Statement (rev. 2026 02) |
| WI | Party request | Statewide | $2.25 | Not set | $3.00 | Not set | Not set | Not set | $0.50 | Not set | 2007 Wisconsin Act 20 | Wisconsin Statutes 814.69 |
| WI | County paid or government | Statewide | $1.50 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $0.50 | Not set | 2007 Wisconsin Act 20 | Wisconsin Statutes 814.69(1)(a) and (b) |
| WY | Statewide | Statewide | $3.85 | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | Not set | $1.25 | Hearings held after Aug. 31, 2023 | Wyoming Statutes, Title 5, Chapter 3, Section 410(e); Uniform Rules for District Courts, Rule 908 IV(c) |
How We Built This Data
We wanted one place where anyone can find the official rate for any state, with proof. Here is how we did it.
- We found the rule. For each state and D.C., we looked for the law, court rule, or court order that sets transcript fees.
- We recorded every schedule. Many states have more than one, such as private party and government rates. That gave us 113 rows.
- We linked every row to its source. Each link goes to the official law, rule, order, or court page, or a trusted copy of it.
- We checked it all again. On Oct. 5, 2026, we reloaded 71 source pages and matched each dollar amount to the source. 98 rows matched as they were. We fixed 11 links. No dollar amount was wrong. 4 rows could not be fully confirmed (listed below).
A few more things to know:
- We rate our confidence. Each row in our spreadsheet is marked High, Medium, or Low, with notes.
- A “page” is not the same size everywhere. Some states define it. New Mexico and Wisconsin price a 25 line page. Louisiana’s default is a 31 line page.
- We do not add fees together. In Georgia, the rush fees are charged on top of the page rate. North Carolina’s state paid rush amount is also an add on. We show each fee as the state lists it.
- Rates change. See the next section. Always check the source link before you rely on a rate.
Rows we could not fully confirm:
- Florida, Circuit 1: the court page no longer shows dollar amounts. We kept the rates we recorded earlier and marked them Medium.
- Georgia, civil and juvenile: the state still posts a 2008 base of $3.78. It rises with cost of living raises, but the current amount is not published.
- New Hampshire: court rules call for a statewide schedule, but we could not find the dollar rates in an official source.
- Washington: the state Supreme Court sets the rate, but we could not find the current figure on a government site.
Rate Changes to Watch in 2026 and 2027
Some rates rise on a set plan. Others are waiting on lawmakers.
- Hawaii: the next step is July 1, 2027.
- Montana: the current schedule runs through June 30, 2027.
- New Jersey: rates are updated for inflation every 5 years. The current rates took effect July 1, 2025.
- Massachusetts: Bills H1649 and S1168 would raise the rate from $3.00 to $4.50 a page.
- North Dakota: since Jan. 1, 2026, a vendor makes certified transcripts, and we could not find the vendor price.
Special Cases
California Charges per 100 Words, Not per Page
California sets transcript fees by the word. Under Government Code §69950, the fee is:
- $1.13 per 100 words for the original
- $0.20 per 100 words for a copy bought with the original
- $0.26 per 100 words for the first copy bought without the original
These rates were set by AB 177 and took effect Sept. 23, 2021. Each extra copy bought at the same time as a first copy is $0.20 per 100 words. For special daily copy service, Section 69951 lets a reporter add 50% to the base fee.
A unit of 100 words is an old legal measure, sometimes called a folio. We do not turn California’s rate into a page price, because the number of words on a page is not fixed. That is why California has its own color on the map and is left out of the median.
States Where the Rate Varies by Court
Four states leave the page rate to each court or county. We list the published rates we found.
- Florida: each of the 20 circuits sets fees in its court reporting plan under Rule 2.535. We list rates for 11 circuits. Circuits 5 and 7 sell audio only and do not make written transcripts. We could not find a published page rate for Circuits 4, 11, 13, 14, 15, 16, and 18.
- Indiana: under Administrative Rule 15, each county adopts a court reporter plan with top page fees. We list Allen ($5.75), Franklin ($4.50), and Gibson ($7.50) counties.
- Louisiana: state law sets a default cap of $1.50 per page plus $0.25 a copy. It then lists many district exceptions, most at $2.50 to $2.75. In some districts, judges set the fee with no dollar cap in the law.
- Ohio: each court of common pleas sets its own rates. We list Franklin County ($6.25 civil, $4.75 criminal) and Hamilton County ($4.50).
States With No Statewide Rate
- Alaska: transcribers who are not court staff set their own fees. The court fee schedule lists no page rate.
- Kentucky: courts record by video. The rule that set transcript fees was deleted in 1995.
- North Carolina: there is no statewide rate for private parties. The only cap covers transcripts the state pays for through Indigent Defense Services: $2.00 a page.
- Texas: state law says a reporter may charge a reasonable fee. A judge decides if someone objects.
- Virginia: no page rate is set. In civil cases, the party who orders the transcript pays. In criminal cases, the state pays reporters by the day or by the job.
States With a Partial Rate
These states set a rate for only some courts, case types, or buyers:
- Arizona: appeal transcripts only ($2.50).
- Delaware: Superior Court only ($3.00).
- Georgia: criminal rate of $6.00; the civil amount is not current (see above).
- Missouri: appeal transcripts only ($3.50).
- New Hampshire and Washington: a rate exists, but we could not find it published.
- North Dakota: a 2025 policy rate of $3.25. Since Jan. 1, 2026, a vendor makes certified transcripts, and we could not find the vendor price.
- Tennessee: criminal cases only ($4.00).
- Vermont: a schedule published for the court’s approved vendor ($3.40 for 30 day delivery).
Frequently Asked Questions
How much does a court transcript cost per page?
It depends on the state and the speed. In the 31 states plus D.C. with one main statewide page rate, the regular rate runs from $2.25 a page (Wisconsin) to $6.00 a page (Utah). The median is $4.00 a page. Faster delivery costs more.
Which state has the highest court transcript rate?
Among main statewide schedules, Utah is highest at $6.00 a page for regular delivery. That price includes one certified electronic copy. Minnesota is next at $5.75 for civil and family cases, then New Jersey at $5.73.
Which state has the lowest court transcript rate?
Wisconsin has the lowest main statewide rate: $2.25 a page when a party orders the transcript. When a county or the government pays, the Wisconsin rate is $1.50 a page.
Why does California charge per 100 words?
California law sets transcript fees by the word, not the page. Under Government Code §69950, the original costs $1.13 per 100 words. A copy bought with the original costs $0.20 per 100 words, and the first copy bought without the original costs $0.26 per 100 words. These rates took effect Sept. 23, 2021.
Which states have no statewide transcript rate?
Alaska, Kentucky, North Carolina (for private parties), Texas, and Virginia. In these states, the price is set by the reporter, the court, or the job. Florida, Indiana, Louisiana, and Ohio leave the rate to each court or county.
How long has the Massachusetts rate been $3.00 a page?
Massachusetts law sets $3.00 a page for an original and $1.00 for a copy made at the same time. News reports in 2025 said the rate was last changed in 1988. Bills H1649 and S1168 would raise it to $4.50.
Do these rates apply to depositions?
No. These rates cover transcripts of state court hearings made by official court reporters and court transcribers. Private firms set deposition prices.
Are these Ditto Transcripts prices?
No. These are official state rates. To see what we charge to transcribe a recording, visit our legal transcription prices page or ask for a free quote.
Cite This Data
Free to cite with a link. If you use these rates in an article, brief, or report, please credit and link to this page.
Suggested citation: Ditto Transcripts, “Court Transcript Rates by State,” DittoTranscripts.com, data checked Oct. 5, 2026, https://www.dittotranscripts.com/blog/court-transcript-rates-by-state/
Questions or a rate change we missed? Tell us on our contact page and we will check the source.
More on Court Transcripts
- How Much Does It Cost To Transcribe Court Proceedings? (what a transcription company charges, and what affects the price)
- How to Order a Court Transcript
- How Long Do Court Transcripts Take?
- 1.2 Million Hearings, No Record: Inside the Court Reporter Shortage
How Ditto Transcripts Helps
The rates above are for official court reporters. If you already have an audio or video recording of a hearing, a deposition, or an interview, we can turn it into a clean, certified transcript. Every file is typed by people based in the U.S., not AI. We guarantee 99% accuracy, and we are CJIS and HIPAA compliant. Standard turnaround is 3 to 5 business days. Rush service takes 1-2 business days.
See our court transcription services, check our legal transcription prices, or read our client testimonials. Learn more about legal transcription services.